New England Tech Student Club Listing

NEIT student activitiesClubs that are affiliated with national organizations may require their members to be enrolled in a particular technology and may limit participation to that technology.

Participation in some technical club activities may require that a student possess certain technical proficiencies in order to participate fully.

Alpha Chi Honor Society
Advisor:  Dr. Robin Schutt, Associate Professor, rschutt@neit.edu
Co-Advisor:  Assistant Provost, Karen Arnold, karnold@neit.edu
Co-Advisor:  Student Activities Coordinator, Melissa Hague, mhague@neit.edu
Alpha Chi membership is a prestigious honor reserved for only the top 10% of Bachelor and Master’s students in all academic fields. Alpha Chi recognizes and promotes scholarship and those elements of character that make scholarship effective for good. The top 10% is based on quarterly cumulative GPAs.  As a member, your academic excellence will be recognized with the a membership certificate, personalized membership card, lapel pin, notation of membership on your diploma and transcripts, and the privilege of wearing regalia at graduation that sets you apart as a Alpha Chi member. An induction ceremony is held annually at NEIT in April.

Criminal Justice Student Club
Advisor: Assistant Professor, Robin M. Winslow, rwinslow@neit.edu
The Criminal Justice Club provides opportunities for students to expand their knowledge of the criminal justice field with guest speakers, field trips and involvement in local community service projects. The club promotes safety awareness to the campus community through campaigns and guest lecturer events.

Game Developers’ Network
Advisor: IT Assistant Professor, Scott Lambert, slambert@neit.edu
Join the Games Developers’ Network if you are interested in game development as a profession and would like to network. Members will have the opportunity to utilize their skills to modify public domain gaming engines, develop small- to medium-sized games and beta-test games; share feedback and helpful techniques; and acquire critical gaming skills. This club also allows members to get actively involved in projects and gain experience that will help them to build a better resume and add to their portfolios.

High Performance Club
Advisor: Assistant Professor, Derek Martel, dmartel@neit.edu
Join the High Performance Club if you are interested in learning how to design, fabricate, and assemble a kit car, organizing reaction time tournaments, and discussions regarding performance trends.

I.D.S.A. – Interior Design Student Alliance
Advisor: ID Assistant Professor, Mia Alwen, malwen@neit.edu
As a member of NEIT’s IDSA Student Club, you can cultivate your leadership skills and acquire valuable networking opportunities. IDSA will have guest speakers and workshops that are geared toward the interests of Interior Design students.

Investment Club
Advisor: MGT Assistant Professor, Daniel Peres, dperes@neit.edu
Join the Investment Club if you are interested in learning more about the following: reaching your long-term financial goals sooner, learning to trade online, discovering how to create a balanced portfolio, finding out about different securities (mutual funds, future contacts, etc.), learning how to invest in the stock market, learning to use cool software investment tools, and seeing how trading occurs on the New York Stock Exchange.

New England Institute of Technology Student Nurses Association
Advisor: NUR Assistant Professor, Rochelle Ducharme, MS, RN  rducharme@neit.edu
Join the New England Institute of Technology Student Nurses Association. The club’s purpose is to: assume responsibility for contributing to nursing education in order to provide for the highest quality healthcare; provide programs representative of fundamental interest and concerns to nursing students; aid in the development of the whole person, including his/her professional role, his/her responsibility for health care of people in all walks of life; and to promote and encourage participation in community affairs and activities towards healthcare and the resolution of related social issues.

New England Tech Golf Club
Advisor: AUT Instructor, Robert Kennedy, rkennedy@neit.edu
Join the NEIT Golf Club if you would like to play golf, learn to play golf, or improve your golf game. The golf club meets weekly to play on a 9 hole course, and will play through December (weather permitting). This offers a great opportunity to meet students from different technologies.

New England Tech Pit Crew Club Meeting
Advisor: AUT Instructor, Daniel Perry, dperry@neit.edu
Have you ever wondered what it would be like to work with a real race team pit crew? The New England Tech Pit Crew Club allows you to experience the excitement of racing while gaining hands-on training. You can play an important part in a team’s success this year.
PLEASE NOTE: Students who have signed up for the club by contacting Dan Perry can meet Dan and the club members on Saturday nights between 4 – 7 pm at Seekonk Speedway. Students who have not signed up for the club must contact Dan prior to going to Seekonk Speedway to participate. (Seasonal Club: May – October)

Phi Theta Kappa – International Honor Society
Advisor: OTA Assistant Professor, Rebecca Simon, rsimon@neit.edu
Co-Advisor: Assistant Provost, Karen Arnold, karnold@neit.edu
Co-Advisor: Student Activities Coordinator, Melissa Hague, mhague@neit.edu
Phi Theta Kappa membership at NEIT is open to students who have completed a minimum of 24 quarter credits with a GPA of 3.8 or above in the Associate Degree program. As a member, your academic excellence will be recognized with the Golden Key Membership Pin, membership certificate, identification card, notation of membership on your diploma and transcripts, and the privilege of wearing regalia at graduation that identifies you as a Phi Theta Kappa member.

Quadricycle Club

Advisor: MCT Instructor, Christopher Vasconcelos, cvasconcelos@neit.edu

Join the Quadricycle Club if you have an interest in engineering, manufacturing, and building Henry Ford’s first automobile, the Quadricycle. Club activities include interpreting engineering drawings, solid modeling using SolidWorks software, machining metal, basic carpentry work, electrical wiring, welding, and assembly.

 

Respiratory Care Club
Advisor:
Assistant Professor, Department Chair, Paul Mangino, pmangino@neit.edu

The Respiratory Care Club gives members the opportunity to plan and get involved in extracurricular and social activities pertaining to respiratory care, learn about current respiratory care trends in the profession and community, and meet other students and people with a common interest.

 

Rotaract Club
Advisor: ST Assistant Professor, Deb Lundin, dlundin@neit.edu

The NEIT Rotaract Club is affiliated by the East Greenwich Rotary Club. Join the NEIT Rotaract Club if you have an interest in community service and want to develop your leadership and professional skills. Club members will have the opportunity to interact with Rotary business leaders and to volunteer at some of the EG Rotary Club’s events. Participation in this club would look great on your resume

 

SkillsUSA
Advisor: Manager of Admissions Outreach and Events, Erin Flynn, eflynn@neit.edu
SkillsUSA is one of the largest student-run leadership organizations in the country dedicated to technical high school and college students. Students participating in SkillsUSA develop organizational skills, leadership skills, and team building skills. For more information about SkillsUSA please visit www.skillsusa.org.

SOTA (Student Occupational Therapy Association)
Advisor: OTA Assistant Professor, Mary Brinson, mbrinson@neit.edu
SOTA is a national organization open to all students enrolled in the Occupational Therapy program at NEIT. SOTA members have an opportunity to meet new people, learn more about occupational therapy, and increase awareness about current issues in the profession. SOTA plans fund-raising and social events throughout the year.

Student Physical Therapist Assistant Club
Advisor: PTA Lab Assistant, Roseanne Hammond, rchammond@neit.edu
Join the Physical Therapy Assistant Student Club if you are interested in enriching and broadening your views and knowledge of the field of Physical Therapy and the role of the PTA in the medical field, and participating in community service opportunities and community/campus activities which promote awareness of physical therapy.

Tech Radio
Advisor: VAP/DRA Instructor, Paul Perry, pperry@neit.edu
Tech Radio is an on-campus radio station. This club allows students to improve their radio skills and learn how a radio station operates. Students may go on-air live or use prerecorded segments. The Tech Radio Club also has positions available for off-air talent.

Tech Records
Advisor: VAP/DRA Associate Professor, Jamie Locke, jlocke@neit.edu
Join The Tech Records Club if you are interested in gaining practical experience in producing and recording music.

Veterinary Technology Club
Advisor: VET Associate Professor, Amy Butzier abutzier@neit.edu
The Veterinary Technology Club promotes the profession of veterinary technology, provides extracurricular and social activities for students and benefits animals in need through community service.

Video and Animation Club
Advisors:
VAP/DRA Assistant, Mike Davis mdavis@neit.edu & Instructor, Matt Morin morin@neit.edu
The Video and Animation Club provides students the opportunity to produce student-generated visual productions outside of the classroom. The types of projects that will be produced include short films and animations, submissions for contests, productions for other campus departments, and local news stories.  This club allows students to improve their video production skills.